Posted by: patwogan | November 2, 2017

Some not So Pleasant Memories

In my last blog post I mentioned my folks divorce.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In my last blog I mentioned my parents divorce.  I had just completed the eighth grade at Peebler School.  I had taken the county test and scored high enough that I was named Salutatorian of Montgomery County.  I missed being Valedictorian by 2/5 of a point.  My parents were very proud of me and  I gave a speech at the eighth grade commencement exercises.

It was soon after that that I found out my parents were divorcing.  My father had fallen in love with a woman he worked with at Sinclair.  My mother was devastated. She had stayed at home a worked very hard raising a garden, milking the cows, raising chickens which she cleaned and sold to the little store in town.  In other words, she was not in the same league as the woman dad worked with.  Her self esteem was in shreds as a result of this situation.  As I look back on it I think dad always had a roving eye.  He was, however, deeply committed to the woman he had fallen in love with.  I think she was the love of his life.   He married her and they were happily married for many years.  She became my step-mother.  It took me many years to realize that my mother and dad should probably not have been married in the first place.  Mother was a very strong woman.  This is evident in the fact that she left home after the eighth grade and moved into Independence where she got a job as a housekeeper with a family for board and room so she could continue her education.  She graduated from high school and then went on to the junior college.  It was there that she ;met my dad.  They married and lived in a little house in the country..   After I was born she stayed home with me while dad went to work at Sinclair   She had as much education as he did, but at that time mothers stayed home and took care of the family.  I think they were happy while we lived in the little house across from Glencliff Dairy.

We lived there until Grandpa Hudiburg died.  Then we moved to the house across the road from Grandma so we could take care of her.  I think that when we moved there it put a strain on their marriage.  I know that at one time my mother’s Grandma moved in with us.  So we had my Dad’s Mother and my Mother’s Grandmother living basically with us.  That caused a little bit of controversy as both of these Matriarchs were used to being in their own homes and being in charge.  I would go over to Grandma’s house at night and sleep at her house so she wouldn’t be alone.  I became very close to Grandma because of this.  I just don’t think you can have three women in the same house without a few (or many) arguments.  My bedroom was above my parents and when I was home sleeping there, I would hear them quietly arguing.

I realize that I have really rambled in this blog post, but it was hard to write this and I promise I will have things better organized next time.

 

S

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

t


Leave a comment

Categories