Posted by: patwogan | November 21, 2013

Cows

I know I have written about building a sod house in the pasture. It was a good project until the cows came and “chased” us out. I may also have written about milking the cows. I don’t think I have written about my very own calf.
My very own calf was a hereford heifer. She was kept in a pen in the barn lot. I don’t know why, but I do know that a small building in the pen was used by me as a playhouse. Frequently I would try to ride her as at that time I was preparing to be a rodeo rider. She must not have known how important it was for her to at least stand still until I had mounted her. Every time I tried to get on, she would move away from me. I finally succeeded in getting on only to have her buck me off. l didn’t give up, tho’ and tried and tried again. If I did succeed in getting on, she bucked me off again. I did finally give up because Dad saw what I was doing and put a stop to it. I think he stopped it for the sake of the calf and not me.
When my Mom and Dad got their divorce, they had a sale of all the cattle, equipment, and everything to do with farming. My calf was on the list of cattle to be sold. I understood this had to be done and I was kind of okay with it; however, when she was sold to the man who transported dad’s cattle to the stockyards in Parsons, I was not okay with it. I know now that a hereford heifer calf would not be killed for meat. I didn’t know that at the time and I cried so much over it that Dad had to buy her back from him. He had to pay three dollars more to get her black than the man had paid for her. I honestly do not know who finally bought her, but I realize that Dad had to pay auctioneer fees twice plus the extra money to buy her back. I was satisfied with the second buyer apparently because that is all I remember about the sale.

Leave a Reply

Categories

