Posted by: patwogan | February 6, 2009

My Daddy

Today is my Daddy’s birthday.  I think if he were alive , he would be 102 years old.  Today is also my granddaughter Kennedy’s birthday.  She is twelve years old today.

Besides the day reminding me of Daddy, I cut some roses from my backyard rose bush which also made me think of him.  As I prepared the roses for a vase, I cut off the lower leaves and also cut off the thorns.  Daddy used to bring me roses and he always cut the thorns off so they wouldn’t stick me when I put them in the vase.  As I cut off the thorns, I pricked my hand and started bleeding.  I realized at that moment that Dad must have really loved me to prepare the roses for me to enjoy. 

I know that that may sound weird to some reading this post, but when I was thirteen years old my parents were divorced.  I blamed my father for the divorce, and our relationship went through a very difficult time…in fact, there was always a slight blemish in the relationship.  So today when the realization that Daddy really did love me suddenly hit me, it was a big eye-opener.  He may not have loved Mother anymore , but he always loved me.  Bless his heart, he did everything he could to convince me of that, but I was too loyal to Mom to let him truly into my heart.  I am ashamed to admit that now, but somehow I know he knows that I always loved him, too.

When I was very small, I was Daddy’s Little Girl.  He was a very special person in my life.  As I grew older, I was something of a Tom-Boy and Daddy taught me to shoot a gun.  I was reminded just yesterday of the times I used to go with him to cut wood down in the pasture.  He would be on one end of a cross-cut saw and I would be on the other.  I really didn’t do much but hang on to my end while he pulled it back and forth.  We used to visit a hollow stump in the pasture hunting for animals.  I also remember going hunting with him the day after it snowed.  We would track rabbits through the snow and then when we found one in a little snow cave, he would reach in and get it out.  He would put it in a sack and wait until I wasn’t around to kill it.  I always liked eating the rabbits we hunted that way because they didn’t have any “shot” in it. 

One thing I think I have inherited from Daddy was his love of flowers.  He used to raise gladioli and iris.  In fact, he had large gardens of both and all of them were labeled with the little metal tags denoting their names.  He entered them in contests and took pictures of the prize-winners.  Of course, they were black and white, but he could remember from the pictures what color they were.  Later in life, he raised beautiful roses.  His green thumb came with dirt under his fingernails from caring for his flowers.   Sometimes when I am having trouble in my garden, I wish I had asked Dad more questions.

And so we come full circle.  I loved my Daddy more than I really realized.  And it took a prick from a rose thorn to make me know that.

Responses

  1. Mom, this is so sweet. Kennedy and I were just talking last night about her sharing a birthday with Grandpa Hudiburg. Did you know I first realized I was pregnant with her at his estate sale? I think that is kind of cool. Love you!

  2. This brought a tear to my eye. Very neat post, Mom.
    I didn’t know that Kennedy and Grandpa shared a birthday! Never put those two together.
    Have a great day. Love you!

  3. This is what makes these comments worthwhile. A revelation for you and information for us. I know it is rewarding to remember and rekindle the feelings from long ago. Grandpa with feelings for flowers and for hunting. Never dawned on me he would be a hunter in the snow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

