Posted by: patwogan | January 14, 2009

Christmas Past

It has been forever since I posted.  First I had a troublesome virus in my computer and then I travelled to Kansas for Christmas and New Year’s.  It was while I was there sharing Christmas with some of my grandchildren that I was reminded of a few memorable childhood Christmas celebrations.

My five-year-old grand-daughter was a teeny bit disappointed that Santa didn’t bring her another baby doll to add to the many she already had.  That recalled to me the time I was disappointed because “Santa” thought I was too old for a doll and I really, really wanted a bride doll.  Instead, I got a rag doll to set on my bed. 

Probably my most memorable childhood memory of Christmas took place when I was four or five years old.  We always celebrated Christmas Eve at my Grandma and Grandpa’s house.  The Christmas tree was the top out of a large cedar tree.  There were plenty of those in the pasture and also in the front yard at both our house and Grandpa’s.  It was brought into the “parlor” and placed in the corner of the room.  It was not decorated until Christmas Eve Day.  The drapes which I remember as being green were drawn between the parlor and the dining room so no one could see.  I think that while the dinner was being prepared, someone must have been secretly decorating the tree.  The dinner was always served late afternoon or early evening.  There was much anticipation on the part of the children to get on with the business of the day which was opening presents, however the adults seemed to relish taking time to enjoy the meal and the conversation which accompanied it.  After the meal was consumed..including dessert and coffee afterwards..the cleanup started.  The leftover food was put away, the dishes were washed, and anything else that could happen to delay the gift opening was done.  Anyway that is the way it seemed to us children.

Finally, the moment arrived.  Uncle Leo,who seemed to have seniority over my Dad and Aunt Bess, opened the drapes revealing the fully decorated tree.  At this particular Christmas, Santa had apparently come early to Grandma and Grandpa’s house, for there on the tree were four baby dolls dressed in yellow, pink, lavender and blue dresses.  Since I was the youngest girl of the cousins, I got first choice.  I chose the yellow dressed doll.  She was beautiful!  I still remember what that tree looked like and how exciting that Chrstmas was. 

I found out later–much later– that Uncle Leo was the “Santa” who brought the dolls.  I hope he got as much joy giving that year as I had receiving.

Responses

  1. Glad to see upu got back on to the business of “remembering when”
    I am sure I along with others have missed these heart felt stories.
    Now I see that the looooonggggg Christmas Eve meals at Grandpa’s had been a tradition for a number of decades

  2. I have really enjoyed your blogs! It has been so long since I have read such wonderful material. It sure brings back memories of foregone Christmases and those who have gone before me. you are a wonderful writer!

  3. Thank you very much. I am now ready to begin blogging again. Hope you enjoy the future stories.


Leave a Reply

Categories

