Posted by: patwogan | August 17, 2008

My Little Pony

Every little kid wants a pony and I was no exception.  I wanted a pony.  There were a lot of horses at Glencliff as well as the prize Guernsey cattle.  If my memory serves me well, I recall they even had some polo ponies.   The farm manager lived next door to us and had two children, Beverly and Joe.  One picture I have in an old album is of Joe, Beverly, their father, and me riding in a horse-drawn sleigh.  Beverly and Joe were my playmates and they both had ponies.  I really, really wanted a pony.

So Dad and Mom got me a pony.  I recall that we searched for some time for a pony and ended up getting one from an “old” lady who lived on South Tenth Street in Independence.  My pony was a little brown and white Shetland and we named him Billy.  Perhaps that was a self-fulfilling prophecy as he turned out to be as stubborn as a billy goat.

We kept Billy at Grandpa and Grandma Hudiburg’s farm as they had a fenced pasture and they didn’t live too far away from us in Independence.  Billy was a pretty horse, but that belied his temperament.  He was fine to ride as long as someone was leading him, but as soon as the lead rope was dropped, he headed for the barn.   He may have been just walking slowly while being led, but as soon as he was free, he became a race horse and ran top speed for “home”.  When he arrived at the barn, that wasn’t enough.  He would run through the barn door while trying to brush his rider off.  Needless to say, I was terrified of him.  It wasn’t just me that he tried to dump, but anyone who happened to be riding him.  I had five older cousins who had looked forward to sharing Billy.  They were also disappointed that Billy had turned out to be such a “mean” pony.  My dreams of becoming an equestrian or even a trick rider in the circus were dashed by my fear of Billy.

So I decided to turn my desires to music and I wanted a piano.  Mother was more enthused about this than she had been about the pony, and encouraged Dad to get one.  So Billy was “traded-in” on a piano.  The piano required more of me than the pony, but that is another story.

I really have never out-grown my fear of horses, but have great admiration for people who ride and an appreciation for the beauty of such magnificent animals.

Responses

  1. And then do you remember when Kathy wanted a horse so bad and the Mullinax’s gave us Pee-Wee? Didn’t he break your arm or something?
    I think my girls will be getting the piano… no horses for us! 🙂

  2. Hi!

    I got here through your daughter’s blog “Dine and Dash” – I love the idea that you’re blogging – I have toyed with the idea of one for about a year but oh – what would I write about? You’ve inspired me to seriously consider it again…I grew up in Wichita Kansas and spent time around KC and Lawrence during my college years so I know right where Independence is – I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts in the future.

    Trish
    Omaha, NE


Leave a Reply

Categories

